VIDEO: Texas school district removes football team from playoffs after player tackles referee

Player charged with assault

HOUSTON – A Texas school district has made the decision to remove the Edinburg High School football team from the playoffs after a player assaulted a referee Thursday night during a game.

The incident occurred during a game between Edinburg High School and Pharr-San Juan-Alamo Early College High School in Edinburg, Texas. Edinburg is a border town near McAllen in south Texas.

The player that tackled the referee was identified as Emmanual Duron. He was ejected and escorted out of the game by police. Duron has been charged with assault causing bodily injury.

Check out the video from the incident here:

The Edinburg CISD released the following statement:

“The district has decided to remove the Edinburg High School football team from the playoffs after an unexpected incident involving a student that occurred during a football game on December 3, 2020. We extend a sincere apology to the referee and his family. On behalf of the Edinburg CISD Board of Trustees and administration, we apologize to the athletes, staff, and our school community.

“We will take the appropriate disciplinary action once we understand the facts and circumstances underlining this incident. The district takes these matters very seriously; however, we cannot comment further on a pending investigation.”

The Texas Association of Sports Officials released the following written statement on the incident:

“On the evening of December 3, 2020 another vicious and deliberate assault was inflected on a TASO Football Official by a player who had just been ejected from the contest. Unfortunately, this type of blind‑sided assault on an official while working on the field is not new to Texas Football.

“Though this latest incident is only hours old, TASO has begun our investigation and started collaboration with the UIL to bring this matter to a suitable disposition.”

This is a developing story. Please check back for updates.

About the Authors:

Award-winning journalist, mother, YouTuber, social media guru, millennial, mentor, storyteller, University of Houston alumna and Houston-native.