HARRIS COUNTY, Texas - A woman who reported to authorities that she found an abandoned baby Wednesday afternoon near Kuykendahl and Cypress Landing roads is actually the infant's mother and made up the story, according to the Harris County Sheriff’s Office.
"We're trying to find out exactly what happened and why she would make that up. We're interviewing her now to find out why she would report this in the way that she did, but the most important thing is that the child is OK,” said Sheriff Ed Gonzalez.
Initially, deputies received a call around 1:45 p.m. that a woman walking along in the area heard cries from a baby in a wooded area. Authorities said the woman told them she walked about 10 feet from the road and found an infant.
She also told deputies the umbilical cord was still attached and it appeared a leather strap was at the other end of it, according to deputies.
Investigators said the woman stated she took the baby back to her apartment, washed it off, then called 911.
First responders took the baby, which was in good condition, to Texas Children’s Hospital in The Woodlands.
Hours later, Gonzalez said the infant was never in a field, but instead was born inside the apartment of the woman who claimed to have found the baby.
They believe the baby was born within hours of when the mom called 911 allegedly pretending to have found an abandoned baby.
"We brought in investigators and quickly putting the pieces together; it just wasn't adding up," Gonzalez said. "The main thing is that the infant is OK."
There is no word if the mother will face charges, since the baby was not technically abandoned. Authorities said it’s unclear if she will face charges for filing a false report.
Authorities said there is a fire station nearby and that the mother could have taken the baby there under the Safe Haven Law.
Also known as the Baby Moses law, the Safe Haven Law allows parents in Texas who cannot care for a child younger than 2 months old to leave the baby with an employee at a hospital, freestanding emergency medical care facility, fire station or EMS station. The law also protects the identity of the person who leaves the child.
Here are some facts about the law:
- Your baby must be 60 days old or younger and unharmed and safe.
- You may take your baby to any hospital, fire station or emergency medical services (EMS) station in Texas.
- You need to give your baby to an employee who works at one of these safe places and tell this person that you want to leave your baby at a Safe Haven.
- You may be asked by an employee for family or medical history to make sure that your baby receives the care they need.
Copyright 2018 by KPRC Click2Houston - All rights reserved.