Register to vote, Texans: This is everything you need to know

Do you make sure to get your "I Voted" sticker after casting a ballot? (Pexels stock image)

HOUSTON – Ready to register to vote? It’s the first step to getting your voice heard. Here’s what you need to know ahead of elections in November.

In Harris County, you can register here

In order to vote you must meet these requirements:


State law requires you to register 30 days prior to the election in which you wish to vote. An applicant’s spouse, parent, or child (acting as an agent) may complete and sign a Voter Registration Application, provided that the agent is a registered voter, or has applied for voter registration.

You may register to vote if you fulfill all of the following requirements:

  • Are a United States citizen;
  • Are a resident of Harris County;
  • Are at least 17 years, 10 months of age (To vote, you must be 18).
  • Have not been declared totally mentally incapacitated or partially mentally incapacitated without the right to vote by a final judgment of a court exercising probate jurisdiction;
  • Not finally convicted of a felony, or, if so convicted must have (1) fully discharged the sentence, including any term of incarceration, parole, or supervision, or completed a period of probation ordered by any court; or (2) been pardoned or otherwise released from the resulting disability to vote.

Be sure to check that you’re actually registered

Authorities say it’s important to check your voting record. You can do that here or on the Texas Secretary of State website.

If you are registered in a county other than the one you currently reside in, you must register again no later than 30 days before Election Day.

If you live in Harris County you can register here.

If you live in another county in Texas, you can apply for registration here.

About the Author:

Amanda Cochran is an Edward R. Murrow award-winning journalist. She specializes in Texas features, consumer and business news and local crime coverage.