Houston - A convenient tool on your computer or phone can save time, but it’s been revealed auto-fill can also share sensitive information where it may not be wanted.
Tech experts have discovered this unintended breach on Google Chrome and Apple Safari browsers. There is something you can do to protect your information though.
Browsers have auto-fill to save time from typing required contact information. With one click it will fill in all those details. It uses information typed into other websites over and over. But recent reports reveal Chrome passes along all of the information it has saved, even when the website doesn't have fields asking for that specific information.
If credit card information is stored in the auto-fill settings, Chrome and Safari will share that information even when it isn’t apparent that a website is asking for it.
Here is how to find personal information Chrome's auto-fill has saved about you:
- Open your Chrome Browser by clicking on the icon.
- Click on the three small dots on the top right-hand corner of your screen.
- Click settings.
- Scroll to the very bottom and click "Show advanced settings."
- Under "Passwords and forms," click "Manage auto fill settings."
Here you can see every address Chrome has saved. If it has any credit card information saved, that will be seen as well. Any of the lines of information can be deleted so it’s not there for Chrome to share.
Auto-fill can also be disabled so information is not inadvertently shared.
We did reach out to Google. They confirmed that this is an issue and they are working on a fix.
Copyright 2017 by KPRC Click2Houston - All rights reserved.