Mandatory, voluntary evacuations issued across Houston area

Mandatory, voluntary evacuations issued across Houston area

HOUSTON – Mandatory and voluntary evacuations are being issued across the Houston area post Hurricane Harvey.

Mandatory evacuations


Residents with water in their homes located west of Gessner, north of Briar Forest, south of the Katy Freeway and east of State Highway 6.

City of Dickinson 

UPDATE 5:30 a.m. Saturday (9/2) : Dickinson has lifted the city's mandatory evacuation, but curfew is still in effect. 

READ: Mandatory evacuation issued for west Houston residents in flooded homes near Buffalo Bayou

Sugar Land:

Mandatory evacuations have been issued for residents in First Colony LID #1 and Fort Bend County LID #7 in the city’s ETJ is also under a mandatory evacuation. All other Sugar Land and ETJ residents within levee districts are under voluntary evacuations at this time.

Bay City:

Mandatory evacuation will go into effect for entire city 

Brazoria County:

Residents living in mandatory evacuation zones are allowed to return home from sunrise to sunset, starting at noon Sept. 5. More details >

Matagorda County:

No one allowed to return to FM 2031 (Beach Road in Matagorda) after 10:00 a.m. Friday until evacuation order is set aside

Montgomery County

The City of Conroe will be evacuating McDade Estates.

Conroe officials are recommending residents of the following neighborhoods also evacuate: River Plantation, Woodhaven Forest, Artesian, Riverbrook Drive and Sherbrook Circle (East of I-45 at 1488), neighborhoods off of FM 2854 and neighborhoods downstream from McDade Estates.

Anyone who needs assistance evacuating can call 936-522-3205.

Additional neighborhoods or streets include, but not limited to, are:

  • Aventura
  • Bracebridge
  • Carlton Woods Creekside
  • Cascade Canyon
  • Creek Ridge
  • Gatewood Reserve
  • Grogan’s Point
  • Havergate
  • Heritage Hill
  • Heron’s Flight
  • Horizon Ridge
  • Hunters Crossing
  • Landsdowne
  • Legacy Point
  • Lenox Hill
  • Pondera Point
  • Shawnee Ridge
  • River Bank
  • Stellar Point
  • Tallowberry
  • Tealbriar
  • Trace Creek
  • Timarron
  • Timarron Lakes
  • St. Lukes Hospital at 249 and Cypresswood

Residents of Grogan’s Point, evacuation points have been established at Sawdust Road Baptist Church at 3100 Sawdust Rd. From there, residents will be transported across Sawdust Road, where buses will be waiting to transfer to local shelter. Residents wishing to be picked by any other means can depart from this location.

Refugio County

San Patricio County

Aransas Pass

Freeport: Bridge Harbor and all low, coastal, flood-prone areas



Port Aransas

Port Lavaca


Richwood: Audubon Woods 2, Audobon Woods 3 and Brazos Crossing



Rosenberg: West Street and Mulcahy Street, north of Avenue D; River Road area, all properties north of River Road adjacent to the river; North of Brazos, all properties north of the Brazos River within city limits; North Rosenberg, all properties east of 4th Street, north of Avenue B and all properties on First Street north of Avenue D; Seek shelter at Sacred Heart Church in Richmond at 507 S. 4th St.

Waller County

Mandatory evacuation for low-lying areas along the Brazos River.

Between FM 529 and south of I-10.

FM 3318

Diemer Rd.

FM 1458 (Brazos River to Buller Road)

Clemons Switch Road

Hartwell Road

Robichaux Road

Garrett Road

Mt. Zion Road

Sunny Side community

Hall Road

Delma Road

Hartman Road

Hannay Road

Muske Lane

Foots Wilson Road

Wilpitz Road

South of I-10

All areas west of FM 1489 to the Brazos River

Roach Ridge Road

House Road

Donigan Road

Sampson Road

Seidel Road

Voluntary Evacuations

Chambers County: 

Residents allowed to return home starting Sept. 5. More details >

Freeport: Urged self-evacuation for entire city

Galveston County: Bolivar Peninsula, effective 8 a.m. Friday. All unincorporated low-lying areas, including San Leon, Bacliff, Freddiesville, Old Bayou Vista and Highland Bayou. The American Red Cross is opening a shelter at 1:30 p.m. at Abundant Life Christian Center at 601 Delany Road in La Marque. Bus transportation will be provided from the Crystal Beach Fire Station on Bolivar Peninsula, the Freddiesville Water Department and the Bacliff Senior Center. Buses will arrive to the Bolivar Peninsula around 10 a.m. and leave around 1 p.m. Buses will arrive in Freddiesville and Bacliff at 1 p.m.


La Porte

Lake Jackson - All Timbercreek subdivisions, Heritage Oaks S/D, Sugar Plantation S/D, The Plantation S/D, River Oaks S/D, Jackson Oaks S/D

Jersey Village along the bayous and low areas

Matagorda County

Montgomery County: River Plantation - Recommended; Woodhaven Forest - Recommended; Artesian - Recommended; Riverbrook Dr. & Sherbrook Circle (East of I45 @ 1488) - Recommended; Neighborhoods off of FM 2854 - Recommended; Neighborhoods Downstream from McDade Estates – Recommended.

If you are not evacuating, the City of Conroe is encouraging Citizens to stay where they are until it is safe to leave.

Notice: for those areas that are affected by the release of water from the Lake Conroe Dam please be advised to monitor for the updated release amount.

Wharton County

Residents of Orchard or Peach Creek Acres and Pecan Valley are being asked to leave the area immediately and seeking shelter elsewhere, authorities said. The report from law enforcement officers is that the water is collecting rapidly in those areas. Authorities are asking residents to call friends and neighbors, because it is late and they want the message to get out.

A shelter has been established at Holy Family Catholic Church at 2009 Briar Lane, Wharton.

Check the forecast any time by visiting the weather page of or by downloading Frank's forecast app on Apple or Android devices.