Here's a list of all the previous Walter Payton Man of the Year award recipients

(Getty Images)

HOUSTON – The Walter Payton Man of the Year award was created in 1970 as an award that recognizes an NFL player for his excellence on and off the field, according to the NFL.

The first player to win it was Johnny Unitas from the Baltimore Colts. This year, the Houston Texans' JJ Watt is a finalist for the award. 

READ MORE: All eyes on JJ Watt as he's finalist for Walter Payton Man of the Year award

Since then, a new player is honored with the award and the title that accompanies it. According to Pro Football Reference, here's a list of all the recipients: 

2016    NFL    Eli Manning    New York Giants
2016    NFL    Larry Fitzgerald    Arizona Cardinals
2015    NFL    Anquan Boldin    San Francisco 49ers
2014    NFL    Thomas Davis    Carolina Panthers
2013    NFL    Charles Tillman    Chicago Bears
2012    NFL    Jason Witten    Dallas Cowboys
2011    NFL    Matt Birk    Baltimore Ravens
2010    NFL    Madieu Williams    Minnesota Vikings
2009    NFL    Brian Waters    Kansas City Chiefs
2008    NFL    Kurt Warner    Arizona Cardinals
2007    NFL    Jason Taylor    Miami Dolphins
2006    NFL    Drew Brees    New Orleans Saints
2006    NFL    LaDainian Tomlinson    San Diego Chargers
2005    NFL    Peyton Manning    Indianapolis Colts
2004    NFL    Warrick Dunn    Atlanta Falcons
2003    NFL    Will Shields    Kansas City Chiefs
2002    NFL    Troy Vincent    Philadelphia Eagles
2001    NFL    Jerome Bettis    Pittsburgh Steelers
2000    NFL    Jim Flanigan    Chicago Bears
2000    NFL    Derrick Brooks    Tampa Bay Buccaneers
1999    NFL    Cris Carter    Minnesota Vikings
1998    NFL    Dan Marino    Miami Dolphins
1997    NFL    Troy Aikman    Dallas Cowboys
1996    NFL    Darrell Green    Washington Redskins
1995    NFL    Boomer Esiason    New York Jets
1994    NFL    Junior Seau    San Diego Chargers
1993    NFL    Derrick Thomas    Kansas City Chiefs
1992    NFL    John Elway    Denver Broncos
1991    NFL    Anthony Munoz    Cincinnati Bengals
1990    NFL    Mike Singletary    Chicago Bears
1989    NFL    Warren Moon    Houston Oilers
1988    NFL    Steve Largent    Seattle Seahawks
1987    NFL    Dave Duerson    Chicago Bears
1986    NFL    Reggie Williams    Cincinnati Bengals
1985    NFL    Dwight Stephenson    Miami Dolphins
1984    NFL    Marty Lyons    New York Jets
1983    NFL    Rolf Benirschke    San Diego Chargers
1982    NFL    Joe Theismann    Washington Redskins
1981    NFL    Lynn Swann    Pittsburgh Steelers
1980    NFL    Harold Carmichael    Philadelphia Eagles
1978    NFL    Roger Staubach    Dallas Cowboys
1977    NFL    Walter Payton    Chicago Bears
1976    NFL    Franco Harris    Pittsburgh Steelers
1975    NFL    Ken Anderson    Cincinnati Bengals
1974    NFL    George Blanda    Oakland Raiders
1973    NFL    Len Dawson    Kansas City Chiefs
1972    NFL    Willie Lanier    Kansas City Chiefs
1971    NFL    John Hadl    San Diego Chargers
1970    NFL    Johnny Unitas    Baltimore Colts