Three more of world's top golfers join Shell Houston Open field

HOUSTON – Three more top golfers in the world have joined the Shell Houston Open field.

A trio of players in the Top 10 of the World Golf Rankings –- Rory McIlroy (No. 8), Sergio Garcia (No. 9) and Dustin Johnson (No. 10) -- were announced Wednesday.

Winner of the 2012 PGA Championship and 2011 U.S. Open, McIlroy boasts six PGA TOUR victories and five international wins, including the 2013 Emirates Australian Open on the European Tour. This will be McIlroy's fourth SHO appearance.

Garcia, the 34-year-old Spaniard who last competed in Houston in 2009, has eight PGA TOUR victories and 17 international triumphs, including the European Tour's 2014 Qatar Masters.

Johnson is making his second consecutive SHO start and sports eight PGA TOUR victories.

The seven other major championship winners joining McIlroy in the SHO field: Keegan Bradley (2011 PGA Championship), Stewart Cink (2009 British Open), Darren Clarke of Northern Ireland (2011 British Open), Padraig Harrington of Ireland (2007, 2008 British Open & 2008 PGA Championship), South African star Louis Oosthuizen (2010 British Open), Davis Love III (1997 PGA Championship) and Lucas Glover (2009 U.S. Open).

The Shell Houston Open is set for the week of March 31 through April 6 on the Golf Club of Houston Tournament Course, formerly Redstone Golf Club.

D.A. Points is the defending Shell Houston Open champion. The PGA TOUR's 10th oldest event is the final opportunity for players who are not otherwise eligible to claim an invitation to The Masters tournament in Augusta, Georgia.

For tickets information and player field updates visit