Three Houston Texans Named To Associated Press All-Pro Team

Three Houston Texans Named To Associated Press All-Pro Team

Headline Goes Here

Houston Texans DE J.J. Watt and LT Duane Brown were named to the Associated Press All-Pro First Team today while WR Andre Johnson was selected to the AP All-Pro Second Team. The Texans' three AP All-Pro players are the second-most in franchise single-season history, behind the four second-team selections in 2011.

Watt is one of two unanimous selections along with Minnesota Vikings RB Adrian Peterson and is making his first appearance on the All-Pro team. Brown, who was named to the 2011 All-Pro Second Team, is the third player in Texans history, along with Johnson (2008-09 First Team, 2012 Second Team) and RB Arian Foster (2010 First Team and 2011 Second Team), to earn multiple All-Pro selections.

The AP All-Pro Team is determined by a 50-member panel of national pro football writers, with one vote cast per voter for each member of the All-Pro team.

Watt (6-5, 295) emerged as one of the League's premier defenders in 2012 as he led the NFL with 20.5 sacks. He became the only player in NFL history with at least 15 sacks and 15 passes defensed in the same season. He earned AFC Defensive Player of the Month honors for September and December, thus becoming the only player in franchise history to win the award twice in one season. He led the team with 107 tackles, 39 tackles for loss, 42 QB hits, four forced fumbles, and had two fumble recoveries. He had 16 passes defensed, the most ever by a defensive lineman. Watt was also voted as the Texans' Most Valuable Player by his teammates.

Brown (6-4, 320) anchored the line for the NFL's seventh-ranked offense and helped the Texans produce a 1,000-yard rusher for the third consecutive season. The fifth-year veteran has been penalized for holding just twice in 76 career games. Brown was also selected to his first Pro Bowl this season.

Johnson (6-3, 230) followed an injury-riddled 2011 season with a career performance in 2012. The 10th-year veteran led the AFC with a career-high 1,598 receiving yards and was second in the conference with 112 receptions. Johnson eclipsed several career milestones in 2012 including the 11,000-yard mark in Week 15. He then became the 25th player in NFL history to amass 800 receptions in Week 16. He was named AFC Offensive Player of the Month in November when he led the AFC in receptions (35), receiving yards (614), and yards from scrimmage (614). Johnson averaged 153.5 receiving yards per game in four November games. He had a career-high 14 receptions for 273 yards at Detroit on Thanksgiving Day. Following a standout season, he now ranks 27th on the all-time receiving yards list with 11,254 and 22nd on the all-time receptions list with 818.

List of Texans AP All-Pro Honorees:

Player                          Position                       Squad                          Year

J.J. Watt                       DE                                First                             2012

Duane Brown               LT                                First                             2012

Andre Johnson            WR                               Second                        2012

Duane Brown                LT                                 Second                         2011

Brian Cushing                ILB                               Second                         2011

Arian Foster                  RB                                Second                         2011

Johnathan Joseph         CB                                Second                         2011

Arian Foster                  RB                                First                              2010

Vonta Leach                  FB                                First                              2010

Andre Johnson              WR                               First                              2009

Brian Cushing                LB                                Second                         2009

Andre Johnson              WR                               First                              2008

Mario Williams               DE                               Second                         2007

DeMeco Ryans             LB                                Second                         2007

Jerome Mathis              KR                                First                              2005

Copyright 2013 by All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.