Four major championship winners join Shell Houston Open field

Headline Goes Here

HUMBLE, Texas - Four major championship winners and one up-and-coming young international star are among the early player commitments for the 2014 Shell Houston Open, according to a news release.

Major championship winners include Darren Clarke of Northern Ireland (2011 British Open), Padraig Harrington of Ireland (2007, 2008 British Open & 2008 PGA Championship), Stewart Cink (2009 British Open) and Lucas Glover (2009 U.S. Open).

Matteo Mannasero, a 20-year-old Italian, is ranked No. 50 in the world. He is playing on a special invitation out of the category for non-PGA TOUR members ranked in the Top 100 and in the Masters field.

D.A. Points is the defending SHO champion. The 2014 event will be played the week of March 31-April 6 on the Golf Club of Houston (formerly Redstone Golf Club) Tournament Course. The PGA TOUR's 10th oldest event is the final opportunity for players not-otherwise-eligible to claim an invitation to The Masters tournament.

For ticket information and tournament updates visit

Copyright 2014 by All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.