Astros Altuve, Springer named 2017 Silver Slugger Award winners

(Getty Images)

HOUSTON – Houston Astros outfielder George Springer and second baseman Jose Altuve have been named winners of the 2017 Silver Slugger Award, presented by Louisville Slugger.

The award is given to the top offensive players at every position in each league.

Springer, who was also the World Series MVP, claimed his first Silver Slugger Award. He becomes the third Astros outfielder to win the award, joining Moises Alou (1998) and Jose Cruz (1983-84).

Altuve claimed his fourth Silver Slugger Award, which is the second highest total in franchise history, trailing only Craig Biggio, who won five (1989, 1994-95, 1997-98).

Altuve is the only player in franchise history to win four straight Silver Sluggers.

They become the first Astros duo to claim the award in the same season since 1999 when 1B Jeff Bagwell and P Mike Hampton claimed the awards.

The last time the Astros had two position players win the award was in 1998 when Alou and Biggio won the award.

Here is a list of all the winners:


  • Catcher -- Gary Sanchez, New York
  • First base -- Eric Hosmer, Kansas City
  • Second base -- Jose Altuve, Houston
  • Third base -- Jose Ramirez, Cleveland
  • Shortstop -- Francisco Lindor, Cleveland
  • Outfield -- Justin Upton, Los Angeles
  • Outfield -- Aaron Judge, New York
  • Outfield -- George Springer, Houston
  • Designated hitter -- Nelson Cruz, Seattle


  • Catcher -- Buster Posey, San Francisco
  • First base -- Paul Goldschmidt, Arizona
  • Second base -- Daniel Murphy, Washington
  • Third base -- Nolan Arenado, Colorado
  • Shortstop -- Corey Seager, Los Angeles
  • Outfield -- Charlie Blackmon, Colorado
  • Outfield -- Giancarlo Stanton, Miami
  • Outfield -- Marcell Ozuna, Miami
  • Pitcher -- Adam Wainright, St. Louis