H-E-B announces winners in 2014 Excellence in Education Awards

Texas's top teachers, principals, school districts awarded

Headline Goes Here

HOUSTON - H-E-B announced the winners in their 2014 Excellence in Education Awards at Houston's Royal Sonesta Hotel Saturday night.

H-E-B Chairman and CEO Charles Butt awarded $430,000 in cash awards and grants to the state's top teachers, principals and school districts.

Butt also congratulated eight educators, two school districts, one early childhood agency and a public school board for being among the best in Texas.

Former NBC anchor Tom Brokaw delivered the keynote address to the hundreds of educators, elected officials, community leaders and H-E-B employees who attended the event.

Earlier this year, H-E-B representatives made surprise visits to the classrooms and schools of 40 teachers and principals across the state, presenting each with a check for them and their school.

President of H-E-B Houston, Scott McClelland, told Local 2 that Saturday's ceremony was about celebrating the importance of teachers and their role in the lives of Texas students.

The winners were selected from a pool of 58 finalists by judges who include former winners, school administrators, and university and community leaders.

Here is the list of the winners in H-E-B's 2014 Excellence in Education Award ceremony:

  • The Rising Star award went to Celena Miller of Cesar Chavez Elementary and Mary Lagleder of Earl Warren High School.
  • The Leadership award went to Nicholas Solis of Hillcrest Elementary and Bart Taylor of A&M Consolidated High School.
  • The Lifetime Achievement award went to Connie Bagley of Crockett Elementary and Rosbel Peña of Alton Memorial Jr. High School.
  • The Principle award went to Gladys Graves of Chilton Elementary and Dr. Jason Johnston of Maurine Cain Middle School.
  • The Early Childhood Facility award went to ChildCareGroup in Dallas. President Victoria Mannes accepted the award.
  • The School District award went to Temple ISD in Temple. Board President Steve Wright accepted the award.
  • The Small School District award went to KIPP Houston in Houston. Superintendent Sehba Ali accepted the award.
  • The Large School District award went to Edinburg CISD in Edinburg. Superintendent Rene Gutierrez accepted the award.

Copyright 2014 by Click2Houston.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.