Big East enters new era as 'American Athletic Conference'

Conference Board of Directors unanimously endorses new name

Headline Goes Here

PROVIDENCE, R.I. - The current Big East Conference announced Wednesday that it will be renamed the American Athletic Conference and will rebrand as such across all platforms, associations and media at the conclusion of the 2012-13 sports seasons.

The announcement was made by Commissioner Mike Aresco after unanimous approval by the Conference's Board of Directors.

"We worked with our institutions, sports marketing experts, media partners, and also solicited opinions and reactions from collegiate sports fans to create a compelling list of names," said Aresco. "Versions that included the word 'American' led every list. American Athletic Conference represents a strong, durable and aspirational name for our reinvented Conference."

"Our exciting new name is the result of a thorough process that has energized our Conference," said Judy Genshaft, President of the University of South Florida and Chair of the Executive Committee. "The American Athletic Conference brand will embody the values of competition and sportsmanship that our student-athletes have always exemplified."

Beginning with the 2014-15 academic year, the American Athletic Conference will consist of:

  • University of Central Florida
  • University of Cincinnati
  • University of Connecticut
  • East Carolina University
  • University of Houston
  • University of Memphis
  • Southern Methodist University
  • University of South Florida
  • Temple University
  • Tulane University
  • University of Tulsa

The conferenced said the U.S. Naval Academy will become a football-only member in 2015. With 12 football schools in the fold by 2015, it will play a football championship game.

A full set of marks for the American Athletic Conference will be presented in the coming weeks.

Copyright 2013 by All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.