13 Texas counties granted federal disaster declaration after recent floods


HOUSTON – President Barack Obama on June 11 granted Governor Greg Abbott's federal disaster request for Individual Assistance for all 12 counties affected by the recent flooding, including: Austin, Brazoria, Brazos, Fort Bend, Grimes, Hidalgo, Hood, Montgomery, San Jacinto, Travis, Waller, and Washington.

Liberty County was added to the list Friday.

Public Assistance Category B (Emergency Protective Measures) for local and state response costs and sheltering was also granted. Category A (Debris) remains on hold as water continues to recede, and pending additional damage assessments.

"I would like to thank the President and FEMA for their quick response in granting assistance to those affected by the severe weather and flooding of the past couple weeks," Abbott said.

"Texans have always risen to meet the challenges they face and this time will be no different. With this latest development Texans can now begin the process of rebuilding their lives after experiencing some of the worst flooding in recent history."

Residents in the designated counties may register for assistance:

  • Online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov
  • Phone 800-621-3362 (FEMA). Persons who are deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability and use a TTY may call 800-462-7585. Applicants who use 711 or Video Relay Service may also call 800-621-3362. The toll-free numbers are open from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., seven days a week. Multilingual operators are available.
  • At a disaster recovery center. To find the nearest one, go online to the Disaster Recovery Center Locator at asd.fema.gov/inter/locator.