Students, faculty and staff at 20 Houston Independent School District campuses went back to class Monday. The schools are part of the district's Apollo 20 program.

The Apollo 20 program is an initiative to transform public education and improve student achievement. The three-year program was launched in four high schools and five middle schools at the start of the 2010-2011 school year. It was expanded to include 11 elementary schools in the 2011-2012 school year.

The schools involved in the program are:

  • Blackshear Elementary
  • Davila Elementary
  • Frost Elementary
  • Highland Heights Elementary
  • Isaacs Elementary
  • Kelso Elementary
  • Robinson Elementary
  • Scarborough Elementary
  • Tinsley Elementary
  • Walnut Bend Elementary
  • Young Elementary
  • Attucks Middle School
  • Dowling Middle School
  • Fondren Middle School
  • Key Middle School
  • Ryan Middle School
  • Jones High School
  • Kashmere High School
  • Lee High School
  • Sharpstown High School

Classes will begin at all other HISD Schools on Aug. 27.