Before the current version of the U.S. flag with 50 stars and 13 stripes, there were many other versions along the way. In fact, this is the 27th version of the American flag.


In the current version, the stars were arranged in nine rows staggered horizontally and 11 rows staggered vertically by order of President Dwight Eisenhower on Aug. 21, 1959. The flag became the official flag of the U.S. on July 4, 1960.


Currently, 10 presidents have served under this flag: Dwight Eisenhower, John Kennedy, Lyndon Johnson, Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford, Jimmy Carter, Ronald Reagan, George H.W. Bush, Bill Clinton, George W. Bush and Barack Obama.